ARB's Committees – Proposed Membership from September 2019

Name of Committee	Overview of the Committee's work	Composition	Proposed Membership	Time Commitment
Audit and Risk Assurance Committee	The Audit and Risk Assurance Committee (ARAC) is a Committee of the Board. Its purpose is to support the Board and ARB's Accounting Officer in their responsibilities for risk management, control and governance, by reviewing the comprehensiveness, reliability and integrity of assurances. The Committee acts in a scrutiny and advisory capacity, and has no executive powers.	The members of the Committee shall be appointed by the Board and shall consist of no fewer than three Board members comprising the Chair of the Committee, one lay member and one registrant member (none of whom will be the Chair of the Board). The Board may also appoint an additional external member to supplement the Committee's skills base and/or provide an additional independent perspective. The Chair of the Committee should have recent significant and relevant financial and/or audit qualifications and experience.	John Beckerleg* Mark Bottomley Vacancy (Lay Board Member) Independent Non Executive (TBC following recruitment process)	The Committee will meet at least four times a year at times to align with key points in the financial year and governance timetable. The Chair of the Committee, in consultation with the Chair of the Board and the ARB Accounting Officer, may convene additional meetings as deemed necessary.
Remuneration and Appointments Committee	The purpose of the Committee is to ensure that the remuneration and reward package offered to all staff, non-executives and advisers is reviewed and updated appropriately. The Committee also	The members of the Committee shall be appointed by the Board and shall consist of three Board members, one of whom will be appointed as Chair Two lay Board members and one	Derek Bray* Stephen McCusker Alison White Independent Non Executive (TBC following	The Committee will meet up to four times per year.

Name of Committee	Overview of the Committee's work	Composition	Proposed Membership	Time Commitment
	provides advice to the Board and Executive about the recruitment and extension of appointments for all non-executives and advisers (including statutory committee members).	 architect Board member should sit on the Committee. The Board may also appoint one additional external member to supplement the Committee's skills base and/or provide an additional independent perspective. 	recruitment process)	
Policy Committee	The purpose of this Committee is to scrutinise and challenge the Executive's proposals in terms of the development of regulatory policy to ensure that the regulatory model is proportionate and effective.	 The members of the Committee shall be appointed by the Board and shall consist of the following: Three Board members Two independent policy experts Two lay Board members and one architect Board member should sit on the Committee. One of the independent policy experts should be an architect, the other a lay member. The Board may also appoint an additional external member to supplement the Committee's skills base and/or provide an additional independent perspective. 	Alison White* Will Freeman Liz Male Two Independent Non Executives (TBC following recruitment process) Note: Ms White will chair the Policy Committee on an interim basis.	The Committee will meet at least four times per year.

Name of Committee	Overview of the Committee's work	Composition	Proposed Membership	Time Commitment
Prescription Committee	The purpose of the Prescription Committee is to scrutinise and challenge the work undertaken by the Executive to ensure that the material that has been prepared for the Board's consideration is in line with the Board's Procedures for the Prescription of Qualifications. The Committee will also be responsible for alerting the Board to issues arising from the operation of the Procedures for the Prescription of Qualifications. The Committee acts in a scrutiny and advisory capacity, and has no executive powers.	 The members of the Committee shall be appointed by the Board and shall consist of the following: An Independent Lay Chair Two Board members Four Independent Non Executives The Board may also appoint one or more additional external member/s to supplement the Committee's skills base and/or provide an additional independent perspective. The Chair of the Committee (who will not be a member/the Chair of the Board) should have experience of higher education quality assurance. The two Board members should include one lay and one architect Board member. Two of the independent non executives should be drawn from architectural academia and two should have experience of higher education quality assurance and/or other regulatory experience; the two independent non executives drawn 	Alice Hynes* Emeritus Professor Richard Parnaby Emeritus Professor ADH Crook Four Independent Non Executives (TBC following recruitment process) Note: Elena Marco will replace Emeritus Professor Richard Parnaby from 1 April 2020, when he completes his tenure as a member of the Board; Ms Marco will shadow Emeritus Professor Parnaby in the interim.	The Committee will meet at least nine times a year.

Name of Committee	Overview of the Committee's work	Composition	Proposed Membership	Time Commitment
		from architectural academia should be registered architects.		

Key:

* = Committee Chair