Select Page

The Privy Council has appointed three new lay Board members to the Architects Registration Board.  The Board oversees the work of the regulator, ensuring that it delivers on its remit, as set out in the Architects Act 1997, to regulate the profession in the public interest.

The three lay appointments announced by the Privy Council are Suzanne McCarthy, Jagtar Singh and Carol Bernstein.  Ms McCarthy and Mr Singh will join the Board on the 1 April and Ms Bernstein will join on the 1 August.  The new members will join five other lay members – Beatrice Fraenkel (who is currently the Chair), Peter Coe, Professor Alan Jago, Ros Levenson, Neil Watts and Nabila Zulfiqar; together with seven architect members, who were recently elected by the profession.  The elected architect members are Jason Bill, Guy Maxwell, Richard Parnaby, Sue Roaf, Danna Walker, Soo Ware and Alex Wright.  Of these Mr Bill, Mr Maxwell, Ms Roaf and Ms Walker are also new to the Board, and having been elected for the first time at the beginning of March 2016, will also take up their positions from 1 April.

Beatrice Fraenkel, the current Chair, who is to step down in August 2016, said:

‘I would like to congratulate the three new lay members who have been appointed by the Privy Council, after a robust selection process which attracted a range of high calibre applicants, and I very much look forward to welcoming them to the Board.  They are all undertaking an important public service, along with the rest of the Board, to oversee the work of ARB and ensure it delivers on its regulatory remit.

I would also like to take this opportunity to reiterate my thanks to John Assael, Ruth Brennan, Hans G Eisner, Myra Kinghorn and Andrew Mortimer, who are leaving the Board, for their contribution to the work of the regulator.  They have shown great commitment and have played a valuable role in the team which has led ARB over recent years and I wish each of them the best for the future.’

The new lay Members begin their terms on 1 April 2016 with the exception of one who will commence on 1 August 2016.

The members of the Board will be:

Carol Bernstein (term will commence on 1 August 2016)

Jason Bill

Peter Coe

Beatrice Fraenkel (term will conclude on 31 July 2016)

Professor Alan Jago

Ros Levenson

Guy Maxwell

Suzanne McCarthy

Richard Parnaby

Sue Roaf

Jagtar Singh

Danna Walker

Soo Ware

Neil Watts

Alex Wright

Nabila Zulfiqar

Biographies for the newly appointed lay Board Members are available at the following link:

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This