Select Page

As previously discussed and agreed by the Board, Peter Coe stepped down as Chair of the Architects Registration Board following its meeting on 16 February 2017.  Peter’s full eight year tenure will come to an end on 31 March 2017, and he stepped down at this point in order to facilitate a smooth transition to a new chair.  Peter was elected as chair following Beatrice Fraenkel’s departure in July 2016.

Richard Parnaby, who is currently the Board’s Vice Chair, will take on the role on an interim basis whilst the Board undertakes its election process.  The election process for a new chair is already underway and the timetable was agreed in November 2016 and published in the February Board papers.

Peter Coe said, ‘I have enjoyed my time serving as a Board Member at ARB, working with a great team to oversee the delivery of the regulator’s statutory remit.  The diversity of experience of the members of the Board and its exceptionally competent team of officers means that it is well placed to lead the organisation going forward, as ARB awaits the outcome of the government’s periodic review.’

Karen Holmes, ARB’s Registrar and Chief Executive, said, ‘We would like to thank Peter for his significant contribution to the Board since he was appointed in April 2009.  We will miss his experience, insight and his positive manner.’

The election of a new chair from amongst its Board Members is being conducted in accordance with Rule 7 of the Board’s General Rules.  The General Rules set out the governance arrangements within which ARB operates including this election process.  Nominations for the role of chair are invited from members of the Board who must then vote for their preferred candidate for this position.  Details of the nominees will be published in due course.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This