Select Page

The Architects Registration Board’s 2017 annual retention fee was due on 31 December 2016. As a regulated profession, architects are required by UK law to pay the fee, which was set at £107 for the third year running. The fees collected from registrants cover the regulation of the profession in the public interest.

97% of architects paid their fee on time this year with only 3% missing the deadline.

Karen Holmes, the Registrar and Chief Executive, said, ‘Thank you to all those architects who paid on time. In the context of a growing Register, which had reached over 38,000, it is very good news that the vast majority of registrants paid their annual retention fee by the due date. This clearly reflects the value that architects place on their regulated status.’

The Architects Act 1997 requires ARB to hold an accurate Register and so those who did not pay their fee on time have been removed under Section 8.2 of the legislation. Coming back on to the Register is quick and easy for those who have been removed and want to be reinstated. We hope to process all applications within five working days. Those wishing to be reinstated will need to complete an application form and pay a total of £152 (which consists of the retention fee of £107 plus an application fee of £35 and a prescribed fee of £10).

More information about the 2017 fees can be found here.

Notes for Editors

ARB is the statutory body established by Parliament under the Architects Act 1997 to regulate the UK architects’ profession in the public interest. The Act requires ARB (among other things) to:

• Maintain the Register of Architects (Section 3)
• Prescribe qualifications for entry to the Register of Architects (Section 4)
• Deal with competence to practise (Section 9)
• Issue a Code which lays down standards of professional conduct and practice (Section 13)
• Regulate use of the title “architect” and prosecute those who use it unlawfully (Section 20)

ARB has a Board of 15 members, seven of whom are architects elected by the profession. The remaining eight are members of the public appointed by the Privy Council to represent the interests of consumers and users of architectural services.

For further information, please contact Sandra Ison, Communications Lead on 020 7580 5861 or by email at